I went to this show on a day that I felt very old and heartbroken.

It’s not a good feeling, being old and heartbroken. It’s scary. You’re vulnerable. Ready to cry at any moment. Or laugh. Hysterically. You’re susceptible to uncertain influences.

Us Ones In Between was not exactly a shock. I kind of felt comfortable with the work, with that particular version of beauty art thought. Maybe I’ve seen these guys around town and didn’t realize or know who they were. Maybe they speak to some great but simple truth, maybe they speak to art, now. It felt like I knew these artists, these ones in between. It felt good, being with my friends. My energetic, blithe and youthful friends. Let’s party, let’s hang out, let’s make art together! That’s what I was thinking.

In reality though I don’t know these artists at all. I think Ty Danylchuk was a year or two behind me at art school. I think I know vaguely what he looks like. I’ve seen some of the names around. Caitlin, Liam, Cody and Brooke.

And I am much older. I see a lot of references to the age 20 something in their very lovely catalogue.

But it made me feel good. To be there with them. Even if they weren’t there and it was just me and an empty gallery and their art. I forgot about all that old and sad stuff.

I saw a lot of nature in the work. I saw bushes and grasses and tangled leaves and logs. And I saw machinery. I saw the symmetry of the clean machine. The patterns repeated.

I felt the promise again. (Have I ever felt it?) Back when the world was a great and endless space. When romance was real. Really real. You could feel it filling your throat, the hollows behind your eyes. Back when talent and good looks and wittily penned artistic statements were as good as money in the bank. Back when everyone loved you.

Yes, I liked being there with the ones in between. They made me feel good. They made me feel.

